Best Viral #BookTok Books That Are Worth The Hype! 📚 💯

Last updated on December 19, 2022
  • Short Link: https://bookwritten.com/?p=8890



  • Ever since BookTok hit the scene, there has been no shortage of recommendations. But how can the average person separate the good from the average? Not to worry, reader! Keep scrolling to see our top 5 book recommendations that were popularized by #BookTok. 

    Best BookTok Books! (Recommendations)

    Best BookTok Books Viral TikTok Popular Book Recommendations

    Although BookTok had its beginnings on TikTok, the recommendations began quickly appearing on Instagram reels as well. BookTok books are known to be interesting but fairly easy reads catering to readers anywhere on the reading spectrum. Whether you’re a budding reader or a long-time veteran, these recommendations bring the best of contemporary fiction to our phone screens. If you’re a Kindle reader, even better! Most BookTok books are available on Kindle Unlimited or affordable in the online bookstore. 

    But alongside the great recommendations, there are some books that definitely feel a bit overhyped. After reading a few of the most popular recommendations from this community, I realized that these books were usually a hit or a miss. As a lifelong reader, having inhaled my fair share of YA and romance, I’m always on the lookout for something a little different. If your comfort reads are romance novels that make your heart skip a beat, there is certainly no shortage of these on BookTok! Some popular ones in this genre include books by Colleen Hoover, Ali Hazelwood’s The Love Hypothesis, and Casey McQuinston’s Red, White & Royal Blue. But if you’re like me, and want to try something new, make sure you check out these books listed below! 

    Join Amazon Kindle Unlimited Now And Read Unlimited Books! 📚 (30-Day FREE Trial!)

    1. The Secret History by Donna Tartt

    The Secret History By Donna Tartt

    If you grew up reading murder mysteries, Greek myths, and Dark Academia, Donna Tartt rolls all of these elements into one delectable novel with a romantic twist. The book opens with a bang, with the narrator stating he is ‘partly’ responsible for a murder. Unlike a traditional murder mystery, the rest of the novel explores the question of why the murder happened. Filled to the brim with morally grey characters, this book had me questioning the motivations of every single character. 

    Donna Tartt artfully combines popular appeal with High Art, dropping references from everything from Nietzsche to Plato to Dionysian induction rituals. In line with its Dark Academia appeal, The Secret History is chock-full of quotes from classics across the ages. This book is a treat for literature nerds and highly recommended for anyone who enjoyed The Goldfinch. You can get the book here! 📖






    2. Conversations with Friends by Sally Rooney

    Conversations With Friends By Sally Rooney

    The verdict’s in – Sally Rooney has some of the best prose of the 21st century. If you’re a fan of melodic, poetic prose, you’re sure to enjoy any of her books. If you like cozy, conversational reads, and you’ve already read Rooney’s breakout hit Normal People, you should add Conversations with Friends to your list. Conversations with Friends is actually Rooney’s first novel, and there’s a certain quiet charm to it that I really enjoyed. 

    Conversations with Friends is also rooted in the world of literature and writing, featuring characters who all work in the industry. The book also received critical acclaim for its nuanced portrayal of age-gap relationships. A TV adaptation of Conversations with Friends is also in the works – if you’re a part of the ‘read the book before the movie/show’ gang, now is the perfect time to start reading. You can get the book here! 📖

    Join Audible Now & Get Unlimited Access To Audiobooks & More! 🎧 (FREE 30-Day+ Trial!)

    3. The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller

    The Song Of Achilles By Madeline Miller

     I love retellings, and this has to be the best one I’ve read in the last year. Greek hero Achilles is resurrected from the pages of the Iliad in this treat for Greek mythology lovers. The book has gained a lot of attention and praise for its romantic relationship between Achilles and Patroclus, another important character in the Iliad. 

    Perfect for fans of Percy Jackson back in the day and those who have read far too much fanfiction, The Song of Achilles is a unique and modern take on a such classic material. Don’t worry if you don’t know much about the original Achilles – written lucidly, this book will tell you everything you need to know at the right time. You can get the book here! 📖


    4. The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo by Taylor Jenkins Reid

    The Seven Husbands Of Evelyn Hugo By Taylor Jenkins Reid

    I love a good book-within-a-book, and I also love old Hollywood stories. Enter: The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo! The book is written from the perspective of a reporter named Monique Grant, who has been invited to write the biography of the big-time actress Evelyn Hugo. Evelyn is a quintessential Marilyn Monroe type whose beauty and love interests have been talked about her whole life. 





    The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo is an excellent read for anyone who enjoys stories that peek behind the curtain of fame. Evelyn is not unlike similar figures in our time, and this book allows us to snap out of celebrity tabloid culture and see the human being underneath. Although the book starts out a bit slow, stick to it – there’s a big twist coming at the end. You can get the book here! 📖


    5. You’ve Reached Sam by Dustin Thao

    Youve Reached Sam By Dustin Thao

    Not all stories have to be happy stories, right? Pick up this book if you’re due for a good heartfelt cry! Dustin Thao tells a story with all his cards on the table – Sam is pronounced dead right in the very first chapter. Tragically killed in an accident when he was just 17, Sam’s absence is felt deeply by his friend and family, and his girlfriend Julie in particular. 

    Unable to cope with her guilt over Sam’s death, since he was on his way to see her when he died, Julie tries to get rid of everything that reminds her of him. She even deletes his phone number, and when she frantically dials it from memory just to hear his outgoing message, the unexpected happens – Sam answers. Through their conversations, we see a collage of their relationship’s best and worst moments and witness Julie’s journey toward saying goodbye to Sam. This book borders on being a YA book but displays a maturity beyond its years in the way it handles grief and loss. You can get the book here! 📖


    I hope reading this helped you add some can’t-miss hits to your To Be Read list. Have you read any of the books we’ve mentioned here? Let us know what you think of it in the comments below, and share this article with a friend who needs new recommendations. 

    Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
    Your subscription has been successful. Kindly check your email. 📧

    BookWritten Newsletter 📧 📖

    Get updates about the best books to read, the ones that'll top your read-list! 📚


    This article contains affiliate links. BookWritten may earn a commission when you buy using these links.

    Last updated on December 19, 2022





    Let's discuss here - Share your thoughts and queries!



    • Leave a Reply

      Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *